Buhari Sacks 26 Jonathan Appointees

Nigeria — President Muhammadu Buhari monday approved the immediate disengagement of 26 chief executives of federal government agencies and commissions whom he inherited from his predecessor, former President Goodluck Jonathan, according to THISDAY’s exclusive report, which earlier reported that at least 35 of them will be relieved of their posts this week.


Buhari Appoints Abike Dabiri-Erewa as Senior Special Assistant.

He also directed that the most senior officers in the affected parastatals should oversee the organisations pending the appointment of substantive heads of the agencies.

The disengagement was confirmed in a statement by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Babachir Lawal.

The affected persons were the Directors-General of the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA), Mr. Sola Omole; Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN), Mr. Ladan Salihu; Voice of Nigeria (VON), Mr. Sam Worlu; National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), Mr. Emeka Mba; National Orientation Agency (NOA), Mr. Mike Omieri; and Managing Director of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Mr. Ima Niboro.

Others included the DGs of the National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Dr. Paul Orhii; Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP), Mr. Emeka Eze; Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), Mr. Benjamin Dikki; Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA), Mr. Ahmed Farouk; Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), Mr. Joseph Odumodu; and the Managing Director of Bank of Industry (BoI), Mr. Rasheed Olaoluwa.

Also affected were the chief executives of the Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF), Mr. Umar Munir Abubakar; Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB), Mr. Denzil Amagbe Kentebe; Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN), Mr. Gimba Ya’u Kumo; Nigeria Railways Corporation (NRC), Mr. Adeseyi Sijuwade; and National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), Mr. Peter Jack, who was recently suspended by the Minister of Communications Technology.

In addition, the heads of the National Centre for Women Development (NCWD), Ms. Onyeka Onwenu; Industrial Training Fund (ITF), Mrs. Juliet Chukkas-Onaeko; National Agency for Prohibition of Traffic In Persons and Other Related Matters (NAPTIP), Mrs. Beatrice Jeddy Egba; Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF); New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD); Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund); Petroleum Equalisation Fund (PEF); Nigeria Investment Promotion Council (NIPC); and Nigerian Export-Import Bank were relieved of their posts.

According to the statement, Buhari thanked them for their invaluable services to the nation and wished them well in their future endeavours.



Categories: Politics

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: